Strong together

The VDWF’s main objective is to strengthen the German tool and mold making industry. Since its founding in 1992, the VDWF has been supporting mainly small and medium-sized companies, and has worked to strengthen them for joint future tasks. To this end, the VDWF combines and advocates for the interests of its member companies. Among the topics on which members receive competent advice and practical support are:

  • Promotion of young talent
  • Education and training
  • Marketing and joint fairs
  • Management and corporate management
  • DIN standards committee
  • CE conformity
  • Expert assessments
  • Press and public relations
  • Lobbying

 

VDWF Active Meeting Space

In addition to the operational tasks, the association’s work is determined by strategic goals shared by its members. The VDWF works to continuously increase the positive public visibility of the industry. It also creates event formats which not only help members to stay ‘ahead by a nose’ organizationally and technologically, but which also promote exchanges within the association network. For example, the VDWF organizes:

  • Segment-specific trade events
  • Training courses, seminars, working groups, and workshops
  • Joint stands at trade fairs and exhibitions in Germany and abroad
  • Delegations and study trips
  • Newsletters with technical information
  • Active network appointments such as the tool making management meeting «voll wild» (“Totally Wild”), or the VDWF working groups «Additive Fertigung» (Additive Manufacturing), «Meister-Treff» (Master’s Meeting), «QM» (Quality Management), «Marketingleiter-Treff» (Marketing Leader’s Meeting), «Vertragsrecht» (Contract Law), «Werkzeugbau 4.0» (Tool Making 4.0) and the Punch and Die Maker’s Meeting «Hart auf Hart»
  • Online events such as the «11-Uhr-Loch» (“11 o'clock gap”) seminar series or the «Spätschicht» (Late Shift) digital round table
  • Regular appointments such as the annual general meeting and event the night before, applied forums, as well as barbecues and ski weekends

The VDWF is self-financed. Around one third of total expenses are paid for through membership fees, income from training and further education, and through trade fair offers and income from the magazine respectively. No public funds are used.


With its association work, the VDWF pursues four overarching goals:

  • Visibility of German tool and mold making
    • in the world and in Europe
    • in Germany and its individual regions
    • in public, also for young people
  • Training and further education within the industry
    • Inter-company trainee programs
    • Application-oriented courses of study
    • Seminars, working groups, and delegation trips
  • Maintaining and expanding technological leadership
    • Exchange of experience
    • Research projects
    • Transfer of technology
  • Provide a culture of and opportunities for open interaction within the VDWF
    • Nationwide presence
    • Diverse range of appointments and meetings
    • Open communication among members

Präsident

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Seul
Professor an der Hochschule Schmalkalden, Fachbereich Maschinenbau

thomas.seul@vdwf.de

Vizepräsident

Anton Schweiger
Geschäftsführer Schweiger

anton.schweiger@vdwf.de

Vorstandsmitglied Ausbildung

Markus Bay
Geschäftsführer Formenbau Rapp

markus.bay@vdwf.de

Vorstandsmitglied Finanzen

Kathrin Schumacher
Geschäftsführerin Weschu

kathrin.schumacher@vdwf.de


Geschäftsführer

Ralf Dürrwächter
VDWF-Geschäftsstelle in Schwendi

+49 (0)7353 98860 15
ralf.duerrwaechter@vdwf.de

Team-Assistentin

Andrea Jocham
VDWF-Geschäftsstelle in Schwendi

+49 (0)7353 98860 11
andrea.jocham@vdwf.de

Team-Assistentin

Melanie Hofmann
VDWF-Geschäftsstelle in Schwendi

+49 (0)7353 98860 12
melanie.hofmann@vdwf.de

Team Lüdenscheid

Stefan Hins
VDWF-Außenstelle Kunststoff-Institut Lüdenscheid

+49 (0)2351 1064 176
hins@kunststoff-institut.de

Team Lüdenscheid

Marius Fedler
VDWF-Außenstelle Kunststoff-Institut Lüdenscheid

+49 (0)2351 1064 170
fedler@kimw.de


Sachverständiger

Dirk Falke
Geschäftsführer Ingenieurbüro Falke

dirk.falke@ingbuerofalke.com

Sachverständiger

Stefan Kind
Geschäftsführer Kind-tec

stefan.kind@kind-tec.de

Leiter VDWF-Arbeitskreis «Gießer-Treff»

Dr. Jens Buchert
Geschäftsführer Karl Walter Formen- und Kokillenbau

buchert@walter-formenbau.com

Leiter VDWF-Arbeitskreis «Marketingleiter-Treff»

Arno Gozzi
Leiter Marketing bei Meusburger

a.gozzi@meusburger.com

Leiter VDWF-Arbeitskreis «Vertragsrecht»

Dr. Claus Hornig
Geschäftsführer Claho

c.hornig@claho.com

Leiter VDWF-Arbeitskreis «4.0 im Werkzeugbau»

Jens Lüdtke
Leiter Tebis Consulting

jens.luedtke@tebis.com

Leiter VDWF-Arbeitskreis «Meister-Treff»

Marco Messmer
Leiter Formenbau bei Stolz & Seng

mmessmer@stolz-seng.de

Leiter VDWF-Arbeitskreis «Additive Fertigung»

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stefan Roth
Professor an der Hochschule Schmalkalden, Fachbereich Maschinenbau

s.roth@hs-sm.de

Leiter VDWF-Arbeitskreis «QM»

Dr. Mario Schubert
Geschäftsführer Process Gardening

mario.schubert@process-gardening.de

Leiter VDWF-Arbeitskreis «Hart auf Hart»

Gerald Schug
Geschäftsführer Huissel

gerald.schug@huissel.com