Strong together

The VDWF’s main objective is to strengthen the German tool and mold making industry. Since its founding in 1992, the VDWF has been supporting mainly small and medium-sized companies, and has worked to strengthen them for joint future tasks. To this end, the VDWF combines and advocates for the interests of its member companies. Among the topics on which members receive competent advice and practical support are:

  • Promotion of young talent
  • Education and training
  • Marketing and joint fairs
  • Management and corporate management
  • DIN standards committee
  • CE conformity
  • Expert assessments
  • Press and public relations
  • Lobbying

 

VDWF Active Meeting Space

In addition to the operational tasks, the association’s work is determined by strategic goals shared by its members. The VDWF works to continuously increase the positive public visibility of the industry. It also creates event formats which not only help members to stay ‘ahead by a nose’ organizationally and technologically, but which also promote exchanges within the association network. For example, the VDWF organizes:

  • Segment-specific trade events
  • Training courses, seminars, working groups, and workshops
  • Joint stands at trade fairs and exhibitions in Germany and abroad
  • Delegations and study trips
  • Newsletters with technical information
  • Active network appointments such as the tool making management meeting «voll wild» (“Totally Wild”), or the VDWF working groups «Additive Fertigung» (Additive Manufacturing), «Meister-Treff» (Master’s Meeting), «QM» (Quality Management), «Marketingleiter-Treff» (Marketing Leader’s Meeting), «Vertragsrecht» (Contract Law), «Werkzeugbau 4.0» (Tool Making 4.0) and the Punch and Die Maker’s Meeting «Hart auf Hart»
  • Online events such as the «11-Uhr-Loch» (“11 o'clock gap”) seminar series or the «Spätschicht» (Late Shift) digital round table
  • Regular appointments such as the annual general meeting and event the night before, applied forums, as well as barbecues and ski weekends

The VDWF is self-financed. Around one third of total expenses are paid for through membership fees, income from training and further education, and through trade fair offers and income from the magazine respectively. No public funds are used.


With its association work, the VDWF pursues four overarching goals:

  • Visibility of German tool and mold making
    • in the world and in Europe
    • in Germany and its individual regions
    • in public, also for young people
  • Training and further education within the industry
    • Inter-company trainee programs
    • Application-oriented courses of study
    • Seminars, working groups, and delegation trips
  • Maintaining and expanding technological leadership
    • Exchange of experience
    • Research projects
    • Transfer of technology
  • Provide a culture of and opportunities for open interaction within the VDWF
    • Nationwide presence
    • Diverse range of appointments and meetings
    • Open communication among members

President

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Seul
Professor at Schmalkalden University of Applied Sciences

thomas.seul@vdwf.de

Vice President

Anton Schweiger
Managing Director of Schweiger

anton.schweiger@vdwf.de

Board member Training

Markus Bay
Managing Director of Formenbau Rapp

markus.bay@vdwf.de

Board member Finance

Barbara Ellinger-Walter
Business Coach

barbara.ellinger-walter@vdwf.de


CEO

Ralf Dürrwächter
VDWF branch office in Schwendi

+49 (0)7353 98860 15
ralf.duerrwaechter@vdwf.de

Team leader

Sabrina Wagner
VDWF branch office in Schwendi

+49 (0)7353 98860 10
sabrina.wagner@vdwf.de

Team assistant

Andrea Jocham
VDWF branch office in Schwendi

+49 (0)7353 98860 11
andrea.jocham@vdwf.de

Team assistant

Melanie Hofmann
VDWF branch office in Schwendi

+49 (0)7353 98860 12
melanie.hofmann@vdwf.de

Team assistant

Charlotte Steinhorst
VDWF branch office in Schwendi

+49 (0)7353 98860 13
charlotte.steinhorst@vdwf.de

Team Lüdenscheid

Elke Dormann
VDWF branch office Kunststoff-Institut Lüdenscheid

+49 (0)2351 1064 119
dormann@kunststoff-institut.de

Team Lüdenscheid

Stefan Hins
VDWF-Außenstelle Kunststoff-Institut Lüdenscheid

+49 (0)2351 1064 176
hins@kunststoff-institut.de


Expert

Dirk Falke
Managing Director of Ingenieurbüro Falke

dirk.falke@ingbuerofalke.com

Expert

Stefan Kind
Managing Director of Kind-tec

stefan.kind@kind-tec.de

Head of VDWF work group «Gießer-Treff»

Dr. Jens Buchert
Managing Director of Karl Walter Formen- und Kokillenbau

buchert@walter-formenbau.com

Head of VDWF work group «marketing director meeting»

Arno Gozzi
Head of marketing at Meusburger

a.gozzi@meusburger.com

Head of VDWF work group "Contract law"

Dr. Claus Hornig
Head of Corporate Consulting Claho

c.hornig@claho.com

Head of VDWF work group "4.0 in toolmaking"

Jens Lüdtke
Head of Tebis Consulting

jens.luedtke@tebis.com

Head of VDWF work group «master meeting»

Marco Messmer
Head of mold construction at Stolz&Seng

mmessmer@stolz-seng.de

Head of work group «additive manufacturing»

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stefan Roth
Professor at the Schmalkalden University of Applied Sciences

s.roth@hs-sm.de

Head of VDWF work group «QM»

Dr. Mario Schubert
Managing Director of Process Gardening

mario.schubert@process-gardening.de

Head of VDWF work group "stamper meeting"

Gerald Schug
Managing Director Huissel

gerald.schug@huissel.com